Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

In the 21st century, the gap between developed and developing countries has become more noticeable and serious. This has raised the question of whether first-world countries should dedicate some of their wealth to third-countries or that the states of less privileged countries themselves should hold the responsibility to take care of their people. There are arguments on both sides of this very topical debate.

On the one hand, supporters of helping poorer countries point to a moral duty that everybody must give a hand to impoverished people who are not able to provide themselves with basic human needs, including food, health, and education. We can see this trend in wealthy western nations share a number of their funds among African poorer nations, resulting in less unemployment, less infectious diseases such as Malaria and Aids, and healthy food in those needed countries. Furthermore, those who support this deed also claim that underdeveloped and developing nations are struggling with a myriad of crisis, ranging from unemployment to corruption, inevitably making their citizens emigrate to privileged nations with the intention of finding better standard of living and quality of life, by helping such nations out, it can halt the flood of emigrants which is considered being the most important issue in the western world nowadays.

On the other hand, though, one major drawback of this idea is that neither does it can help poorer countries to tackle their problems, nor does it may make them developed. This is partly because the politicians and people of countries obtain this aid bring the idea of 'we cannot' and 'we will always need help' into their lives and societies, making them feel unable to change the circumstances of their countries. In addition, those who oppose this idea highlight that gratuitous financial assistance would result in more corruption in the long term. Instead of investing funds in manufacturing and creating job opportunities, politicians governing third world countries would try to take advantage of them in favor of themselves and their families, promoting the inequality and greater gap between the impoverished and the privileged in the society.

In conclusion, I believe that rich countries should not be required to help poorer counties financially. Instead, they are obliged to export their technology and management to developing countries to pave the way for making progress economically and socially.