Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land What solution is better

The construction of a city's buildings differs from one country to another. There are cities which decide to build high buildings, like skyscrapers, while there are some which create smaller buildings but in a wider part of the land. Although there are merits and dismerits of each choice, I think that expanding cities upwards is a better solution.

Some would argue that tall cities present challenges for their inhabitants, and they do not offer a better quality of life like a spread-out city. Condensed urban ureas with lots of tall apartments blocks, like New York City or Shanghai, are famously difficult to live in due to effects of overcrowding on sanitation, safety, and traffic conditiions. In contrast, decentralised cities like Los Angeles allow for the development of unique individual neighborhoods, more space for residental construction and a reduction of urban issues. Individuals living in these cities often report a greater feeling of satisfaction and many emigrate to such cities because of the better living conditions.

However, those in favour of taller buildings can logically point out the resultant advantages for the area around a city. It is often hard to check the growth of economically important cities that can lead to massive urban sprawl, as in the case around Mexico City. By building more skyscrapers, the surroundings area can be preserved or used in another way. Pristine natural lands can be designated as national parks. If the city requires more food to feed its population, there could be proximately located farms with fast delivery times. This land can also be turned into quiet suburban towns to give residents the choice of raising a family outside the city and still earning a good wage and having access to cultural benefits of large metropolises.

In conclusion, horizontal cities facilitate more positive living conditions, but taller cities make more sense in the modern world.