Some countries achieve international sports by building specialized facilities to train top athletes instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use Do you think this is positive or negative development

Nowadays, many countries hope to gain worldwide attention and fame by winning international championships. In order to attain this goal, they finance specialized amenities that are geared up to train elite athletes in lieu of improving public access to fitness facilities. Although this measure brings about some potential benefits, I strongly assert that this is a negative development.

Admittedly, it is understandable why some governments have incentives to provide top-notch athletes with the exclusive use of high-quality facilities. To begin with, specially designed equipment ensures an immaculate and safer training environment conducive to the development of prospective athletes. With the aid of the cutting-edge facilities, talented all-round trainees are able to avoid unnecessary injury and know how to improve weaknesses and identify strengths. In addition, athlete-friendly training programs, accompanied by superb amenities, guarantee success and honor in international competitions, such as Olympic Games and the World Cup, and this is considered an effective way to boost a national image and pride. The outstanding performance of athletes not only wins the world’s accolades but also increases patriotism among younger generations and gives them a paradigm to emulate. Nevertheless, the benefits mentioned above do not necessarily imply that sportspeople should have the privilege of monopolizing the national resources.

In fact, a growth of a sedentary lifestyle among people is the first negative result of government-funded facilities that are specifically targeted at athletes. With limited access to doing daily workouts or taking up their favorite sports, people have little alternative but to confine themselves to their rooms playing online games or streaming Hollywood movies. This sedentary lifestyle, which is a precursor to many potentially chronic illnesses such as obesity, cardiovascular disease, anxiety and depression, might compromise people’s physical and mental health.

Another serious repercussion is that constructing athletic training facilities puts a financial burden on a country, hampering the long-term development of other public sectors. With a view to achieving international success in sports, governments have to budget more carefully to maintain and improve the quality of specialized facilities. However, the increasing expenditure on athletic equipment insinuates an inevitable reduction of government spending in other important sectors such as education, pension, healthcare and national defense, all of which are the very things people care about.

To recapitulate, the idea of building specialized facilities for top athletes is completely preposterous because it has brought about too many problems to be considered a positive trend. Considering its negative impacts on health, economy and public welfare, I would suggest that any plans of the exclusive use of sports facilities should be scrapped.