In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The trend of obesity is raising significantly as well as the healthy levels of the public are dropping. These measures cannot be ignored since the bringing problems are serious. I believe that the eating habit and the working hour are the factors to cause the above matters.

To begin with, unbalanced eating habit is one of the resources of arising weight. For instance, the eating culture in Hong Kong, where is an international city, is poor and unhealthy, residents usually eat on the fast food restaurants or even take away from supermarkets because of the convenience level is quite high that the shops are only nearby their flats. Therefore, the opportunities for eating unhealthy foods are really large rather than cooking at home by themselves. Furthermore, it is undeniable that the working hours in some countries are long. In Hong Kong, the average working hours for each employer are normally 10 hours, which take almost a half day of a person as far as the transport method is also long. Thus, the employees are not able to get training time to strengthen their body.

The measurements should appropriate to reduce the above circumstances. As for the worse eating habit, the government may restrict the quantities of snack or potato chips in the supermarket as well as tax for customers who what to buy the unhealthy goods to change the atmosphere of eating habit. On the other hand, promoting a policy to shorten the working hours of the employees from the government can also rise the sporting interest of the public to prompt the fitness body of the inhabitants.

In conclusion, as the raising weight and the declining fitness levels come from bad eating hobbies as well as long working hours, the measurements of reducing the numbers of unhealthy goods and decrease working hours may be effective.