Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that only challenging hobbies can make people feel satisfactory and attract them to continue doing. In my opinion, interesting hobbies do not have to be difficult because attraction depends on people’s different needs.

On the one hand, some people think activities that challenge them make them excited and have a roller coaster feeling. They can gain a sense of fulfillment when they master in a difficult hobby because it is similar as learning a skill. For example, people enjoy doing scuba diving even though it might be fatal underwater if they are not careful enough. When an activity is ready for everyone to do without requiring hard working or professional training (uncountable), those who want to have a unique experience would feel bored. Easy hobbies are not attracting to keep them doing and people may give up after a very short period of time.

On the other hand, some activities can be pleasurable for various reasons and do have to be difficult at all. First of all, more and more people fostering hobbies for a relaxing purpose which they can refresh themselves and escape from the increasingly stressful life. Taking reading books as an example, most people read fictions and novels in their free time because their brain can take a rest and is no need to analyse the text when they read those books. Also, some people have hobbies for health, and they would be happy if they can keep fit by doing their hobbies. For instance, Yoga is a very popular hobby for people at all age due to the mental and physical pleasure it brings with.

In conclusion, people gain happiness from different things so as from hobbies. All the activities can be enjoyable no matter they are extremely challenging or no need to use your brain.