Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

High school students are expected to contribute to the society where they are living; therefore, some people contend that those unpaid community service activities should be included in schools’ curriculum. In my opinion, I strongly agree with that statement because of some convincing reasons.

The first motive why students should be compelled to do community service for free is that they have opportunities to develop their soft-skills which are extremely necessary for their career path in the future. Numerous skills and characteristics such as communicative skills, team-working skills, leadership, independence, responsibility and the like can be gained from those activities. for example, only by teaching sports to young children with their peers can they know the method to work well in a group, plan the lessons and also create activities in classes. Consequently, their social skills will also be boosted significantly.

Another reason to support the idea of including community service in school programmes is because of its moral values. High school students are exposed to real individuals who are facing lots of adversities and that particularly helps them develop their kind-hearted behavior. In fact, students who are working for a charitable organization will know how to take care of others and usually help one another in their life. Therefore, those outside school activities are valuable and helpful to students’ behaviors and mindsets.

However, some oppose that doing community service is a waste of time and it will afflict students’ school performance since they do not have much time to do homework or going to extra classes like languages or sports. It may be true to some extent that the above extracurricular activities interfere with students’ timetable. However, they can do it in their free time and the community service just consumes a few hours per week. Additionally, students also have the opportunities to relax and have fun after long study hours. Therefore, doing community service is considered a great thing to do since it provides both practical knowledge and pleasure.

In conclusion, adding community service into school programs as a compulsory activity is highly supported because of its great benefits. Schools and parents should allow children to choose the program they like in order to help them have the greatest experience in their students’ lives.