Some people prefer to plan activities for their free time very carefully Others choose not to make any plans at all for their free time Compare the benefits of planning free time activities with the benefits of not making plans Which do you prefer plannin

Leisure activities have increasingly become important as individuals become mentally, emotionally, and physically drained due to their busy environments like work and school. Recent studies show how beneficial hobbies can be, but a controversial topic is if it is better to enjoy recreation in one's free time or learn practical skills. No one can deny that each has advantages and disadvantages that vary depending on the individual and their way of life. However, if I had to choose, I would prefer to learn practical skills. It is my firm belief for two main reasons, which I will discuss in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, learning practical skills can have positive outcomes, such as making you feel more confident and optimistic. I have to admit that my experience has impacted my view of it. I am a senior, and since I was little, I have enjoyed drawing, so when I had spare time, I would take the time to sketch daily objects. However, as I got into secondary school, I realized how I wasted my time on simple actions and decided to live smarter. During those times, I would volunteer to be a teacher's assistant for my art teacher. Although I was still in the field of art, through the experience I gained, I learned how to handle children, teach patiently, and clean efficiently. Although it was challenging to be in an environment I had never been in, it was worth it since I could expand my comfort zone. Thus, learning practical skills allows one to use and invest time efficiently.

One group of scholars illustrated how learning new skills without pressure results in long-term benefits. I can affirm that it is true through my experience in South Korea. In 2020, during the pandemic, my life choices were restricted, and I spent most of my time doing things I enjoyed, like reading a book and singing. Nonetheless, as time flew quickly, I knew that I had to do things differently. With a change of heart, I decided to take online courses in computer programming for free. Through practice and dedication, I not only got to review and refine my code programming skills but also realized what I wanted to major in during my university years. Through the process of learning, I learned that I wanted to work in the field of computers, and I would not have been able to if I continued to spend my days on my hobbies.

To sum up, it is better to acquire relevant skills than to simply indulge in a hobby because it offers a wide range of benefits, including expanding one's knowledge and having a direct path between academics and work.