: Some people think that all teenagers should be required to do unpaid work in their free time to help local community.

The believe this would benefit both the individual teenager and society as a whole.

Do you agree or disagree?

It has been widely assume that all students should be forced to do volunteer work in their spare time to support local inhabitants. Also, many believe that this would be advantage for both sides. From my perspective, I partially agree with this idea.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why unpaid jobs are proven to bring benefit for both teenagers and local community as a whole. One reason is that a wide range of hand-on experience might be acquire through this kind of job. For instance, volunteering at Hanoi Youth club, a voluntary organization which offers free tour for foreign tourists, enable them to enhance their English proficiency. Moreover, unpaid work would be economical for local community when government do not need to pay for the volunteers and authorities, thus, could spend budget to strengthen the welfare of local society.

On the one hand, it is my belief that obligatory unpaid-jobs somehow have detrimental impact on the development of adolescents, as well as the freedom of society. Firstly, it is evident that the pressure of study accounts for a great deal of how students spend their free time. They are usually required to attend at lecture or complete a huge workload of assignments. Consequently, they would be prone to high levels of stress and depression, if they were forced to do unpaid job. Secondly, it also definitely goes against the ideal of constitution, as well as human rights when a group of people is required to do unpaid jobs, especially it might goes again their will.

It goes without saying that, although volunteer work may offer a vast variety of benefit for youngsters and community, I completely contradict the idea of making it compulsory.