Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.Discuss both these views a

With revolution and development took place in educational industry, tertiary school have included nearly all kinds of human discipline ranging from science to art and literature. While in terms of choosing major subject, some people believe only through dedication in engineering will equip the undergraduates the ability of future require, others encourage follow their own desire.

Admittedly, devoting in the subjects of great practical skills significantly promoted the likelihood of finding a decent job in the future. Just like computer related professions are always in great demand, as the current society heavily rely on the modern techniques and the specific knowledge gained from scholarly pursuits served as fuel for business or culture promotion. Besides, the well-paid job could bring financial support for individuals who have passion in other areas, but the only concern is that whether the high salary is attained in compromise with their personal leisure time and energy.

Personally, I stick to the idea that one should freely choose whatever subjects they desire, considering that a lack of interest, in most cases, fails to achieve their target, be it a college diploma or an occupation in prestigious company. Conversely, if an individual actively studying in he/she beloved subjects, less helpful in one's career as it seems to be, may end up in becoming a specialist in that area and eventually reward the society in its own way. Further, it is not the case that the whole society operate merely with science and technology. In business industry, for example, consumers purchase a product over other same functional devices may simply because its design or underlying culture, that made art a dominant role in commodity which, ironically, have been suspected for practical utility in the first place. Therefore, the discipline that seems to be irrelevant for material well-being may harbor tremendous potential in all aspects of our daily life

In general, certain limitation are not expected to impose on subject choosing, as such constraining, on one hand, do harm to personal development, on the other hand, decrease the variety of soft industry.