Some people think that current environmental issues are global problems and should, therefore, be dealt with by the government while others believe that these problems can only be tackled by individuals. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

The damage to the environment is increasing at an alarming rate mainly due to human activities. Even though, a grate deal of efforts are being now made by governments all over the world, individuals also have a major role to play in the minimizing global environmental hazards. I strongly believe that the environment is not major concern for most people.

To begin with, despite government efforts to reduce environmental problems, many people are reluctant to take action to solve environmental problems. One of the major reasons for the pollution of the environment is the uncontrolled use of automobiles. If individuals can make a conscious effort to change their lifestyle, by cutting down the use of private cars and use public transport, it would substantially reduce the burning of fossil fuels. In other words, serious attempt could be made by individuals to travel to work by buses and trains, which are cheap and abundant.

In addition to this, dropping lots of plastics into the environment is done by people. If every individual of people considers himself responsible for protecting the environment could play a significant role to make our environment safe. For example, using enormous amount of plastic which is a dangerous pollutant of soil in daily life cause one of the biggest environmental issues. In other words, almost every consumer use plastic while shopping, and throw it after using. Instead of plastic, people can choose other ways that are more Eco-friendly. For example, they can use paper and cloth bags as an alternative in supermarkets. Furthermore, many people may not try to protect the environment for reasons such as lack of awareness and also, because of their interests.

To conclude, therefore, it seems that environmental problems are a worrying concern and individuals have a crucial role to cooperate with government to reduce environmental problems. Lack of individual participation could mean that, addressing environmental issues is beyond reach.