Some people think that governments should give financial support to creative artists such as painters and musicians. Others believe that creative artists should be funded by alternative sources. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views about whether governments should offer financial aid to creative artists. Some people agree with the idea of the governmental investment in artists, while there is an argument that these artists should gain economic benefit from other organizations. In this essay I will examine both sides of the debate to seek a conclusion.

To begin with, it is undeniable that government funding artists can help well preserve its culture. This is because artworks are always tightly bound to a nation’s history, belief, culture and ethos. Subsidizing these artists and encouraging them to create freely without considering money will therefore have important implications to a country’s cultural diversity. For example, it is the Chinese authorities that have invested enormous amounts of money in the people with artistic talent, not only reviving the national culture, but also making it more colorful.

On the other hand, nevertheless, the reason why other groups instead of the government should take the responsibility of funding artists is that the state has more important concerns, such as education, healthcare, infrastructure and security. If the government pumps money into the art domain, then there is not enough money available for these basic needs.

In conclusion, governmental help is sometimes necessary to artists. However, if these artists are supported exclusively by the government, then the nation will undertake larger economic stress and there is a possibility that the creations of artists will be influenced and even controlled by the preference of the authorities. Therefore, from my perspective, artists should not only count on the government but also on other sources like entrepreneurs.