Some people think the increasing business and cultural contact between countries brings many positive effects Others say it causes the loss of national identities Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion Give reasons for your answer and inclu

It is clear that the recent debate on the co-existence between the international development and traditional cultures does not seem to come an end anytime soon. Although the increasing business and cultural relationships among different nations have certain implications on the status quo as well as current lifestyles, I personally believe the impact on national identities appears insignificant compared to the greater benefits this trend can bring.

To begin with, there are a host of reasons why national cultures are considered to be lost because of the cooperation among multinational organizations. This is predicated on the consumption that this development could pose a serious threat to cultural and traditional value. Take, for example, the acceptance of same sex marriages and premarital cohabitation, which used to be strongly opposed in the past. Similarly, the appearance of a myriad of fast food chains, KFC, say, coupled with the hustles and bustles from daily life, directly changes people’s eating habit. This provides an alternative option as opposed to cooking on their own, negatively underestimating the importance of family meals was the way their older generations did.

However, I would argue this tendency is far more advantageous. Firstly, since international companies are increasingly expanding their businesses, there is greater need for the labor workforce. This contributes to job opportunities for local people, helping residents to earn money and improve their standard of living. Furthermore, in order to compete with enterprises from oversea, local firms need to be more creative and innovative, which not only helps such domestic companies develop more sustainably, but also positively impact on the local economy. Finally, increasing cultural contacts between countries leads individuals to have a deep understanding of other cultures, avoiding culture shocks or intense conflicts that are unwanted. In fact, an Italian person fought with a local one on Bui Vien street due to the misunderstanding of non-verbal language.

In conclusion, while it is true that the interference between businesses and cultures worldwide can cause disappearance of some traditional cultures, I believe it much more beneficial.