Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the cours

1. Nowadays, higher education is becoming increasingly popular to students who have just graduated from high schools. Therefore, what the universities should provide for the undergraduates has been a controversial issue. Some individuals think that universities should give students knowledge and skills necessary in a workplace. However, others believe that they have to provide a key to knowledge, regardless of its usefulness to an employee. In my opinion, undergraduates should accumulate more and more knowledge instead of kills for a certain employee.

The main reason why students go to universities is to get acquainted with the area they are going to work, to achieve special skills for this area. Thus, the courses that are closest to the students chief subject are crucial therefore, a prominent proportion of time is spent on them. Besides by developing particular skills of undergraduates specialization, they are able to get experience which would be useful for their future profession. Nevertheless, scholars become narrow-minded due to advancing in certain spheres. Thein abilities are limited consequently it contributes to inability to learn new skills.

We must admit that giving access to knowledge has its drawbacks. Compared with the first situation students have no specialization in determined branchs. Accorclingly, their chance to get highly demanding work is low. Due to the fact that undergraduates lack experience and practice, they may not think of their dream work. On the other hand, diverse and profound knowledge help students develop sustainedly. Actually, students who have many extended knowledge can live better than others. In the modern society, since communication is becoming important day by day knowledgable individuals can solve issues more easily. Furthermore, another advantage of giving more knowledge is flexibility in getting experience. Students who take profiencies from different areas are able to broaden their horizons and open their minds. As a result, they become versatile in each sphere where they got experience.

In conclusion, I think that the benefits of giving access knowledge for its own save for universities outweigh that of providing the knowledge and skill for working. In my opinion, know-how can be more useful in our everyday life. Overall, we acquire knowledge for life, not only for work.