Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online.Is this a positive or negative development?

Online education is a new trend and thousands of educational institutions have already started adapting to the online study. However, there are some disadvantage with online education, but the advantages far outweigh the demerits. I would discuss both the views of this argument.

To begin with, many universities in the developed countries started educating the children with online courses only after complete and proper research. The material provided in online courses is prepared by professional teachers and experts, so the quality of the education offered by these is good. Moreover, it also helps to provide education to the house-wives and elderly people who could not complete their degrees in their stipulated time period. The registration an also be completed quickly online without wasting any time in travelling to long distances to pay the fee. Many students started studying in Khan academy, unacademy and udemy, which are reputed online educational platforms.

On the other hand, there are some disadvantages with this online education such as money and lack of supervision and motivation by teacher. Some universities demand very huge amounts of money for online courses, which cannot be met by poor students. The motivation provided by teachers in traditional classrooms is packing in online classrooms. However, teachers motivation is a major requisite for any student to acheive success in his academic career.

I conclude that online courses have both merits and demerits. However, the merits acquired by these courses outweigh the demerits and so i would recommend online courses to those who w can support themselves financially.