Some universities offer online courses as an alternative to classes delivered on campus. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

The supply of online courses as an replacement to traditional classes has evolved as a controversial topic of concern in the Internet era. While I agree with e-learning could be beneficial in some extend, I strongly believe that classes delivered traditionally on campus have more negative influences on students and society.

On the one hand, I accept that the provision of online courses could bring some benefits. The primary advantage for my belief is that it may help more people approach knowledge conveniently and accessibly. This is because if some universities supply e-courses to those whose inhabiting in advantageous areas and approaching education is restricted due to distance constrain, they may have more opportunities to pursue higher education. In competitive job market nowadays, companies or co-operations all require their employees qualified hence without learning higher education such as universities or colleges degree, the young may meet various difficulties in becoming an official employee and raise their family. This practice could bring about more civilized society and boost economic development.

On the other hand, I’m in favor of the idea that the headmasters offer e-learning for students would have some negative effects in some extend. Firstly, accessing knowledge without going to campus would not suitable for some subjects requiring students more interact each other. For example, in English lessons, especially speaking skill students have to practice speaking to their classmates and collect both bad or good feedback from their teachers in order to enhance their English skills. Another visible drawbacks is that studying from home may enable learners to lack of social skills. This is because schools, universities, or even colleges are all minimum size of society. By coming campus everyday not only help students acquire valuable knowledge but also help them facilitate various necessary skills such as problem-solving ability, team work, communication. Without these indispensable skills, they are prone to failure in applying for job in large co-operations or companies which require their candidate to have both vast knowledge and soft skills.

In conclusion, although there are some benefits for this phenomenon, I personally think that negative effects are more serious consider than positive influences.