In spite of the advances made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry Why is this the case What can be done about this problem

Although new techniques and ways are being applied in agriculture to produce more crops and to gain more food, people in some parts of the world are still facing the problem of starvation. This is mainly because of the consumerism culture of the today world and the geography of the region where those people live itself, but there are a number of solutions to tackle this issue.

One possible reason of people going hungry might be people’s obession with consumerism, which encourages us to buy food more than we need. In other words, even though the amount of food produced is increasing with the help of new technology, all of it goes to the hand of the rich who tend to buy more than they need. As a result, people in poor countries are still having starvation no matter how abundant the food becomes. Another factor contributing to the problem is the geographical features of the region, for example, no rain for several years or extreme drought, which are not suitable to grow crops. Those make people in that area unemployed and finally, they become starved.

There are two solutions which might have a great impact on above issues, one of which is dontating food to the hugry by the rich. Even if the rich people in the USA alone donated food to those people in need, it would save thousands of lives who are dying due to lack of food. Moreover, the wealthy need to practice the idea of buying the necessary amount to ensure that there is a sufficient amount of food for all the people on earth. Another solution is investing a lot in agricultural science to be able to modify unsuitable regions to fertile lands. According to the saying, “where there is a will, there is a way”, if scientists have a strong dertermination, they will definitely make a breakthrough to transform those wild area into croppable places to solve the problem of world starvation.

In conclusion, despite the fact that new techniques are used in agriculture to increase food production, it is not enough to feed the world population. Therefore, new technology needs to be discovered and the weathy should donate food to solve the current problem.