Tourism is encouraged in many countries. Does tourism brings more advantages or disadvantages.

In recent years, rapidly expanding tourism is gaining a great deal of attention throughout the world. Most importantly, it has been a bone of contention among the critics regarding its impact on a country. While some people feel that it has several downsides on a particular tourist destination, I would contend that it has multifarious benefits too.

On the one hand, it is inevitable that tourism ensures an exponential economic growth of any country. Therefore, encouraging tourism means bolstering the economy. This means, preparing a country as a holiday destination opens a lot of business opportunities to the young startups. This includes professional expansion of resort business, upgradation of transport facilities as well as patronizing large-scale entertainment facilities. Moreover, for a given country, eventually, it provides a global identity and it becomes the hotspot for a mixed bag of people from different parts of the world. This can be exemplified by the well-known tourism sectors in Thailand. This is one of the predominant reasons for which Bangkok is now known globally. A survey conducted last year in Bangkok represents that their economy has been boosted by 32% soon after the appearance of Pattaya and Phuket in the top list as a tourist attraction which is really appreciable.

Conversely, some people are also worried about the exploitation of the native culture that solely belongs to that place. Thus, there is little chance that own culture might be somewhat adapted with the influence of the incoming tourists. Besides, with the unregulated tourism, certain heritage might face sheer chances to be damaged by the inundating rush of tourists, particularly in long vacations. The Cox’sbazar, for instance, is the second largest sandy sea beach in the world are now facing tremendous pressure to handle plastic trash that now fades away the beauty to some extent. Additionally, some people want to do short-term cheap business with the tourists by cheating them with higher prices even for a simple one dollar souvenir. This sometimes sends a negative signal to the visiting people and deter them from revisiting. However, these simple negatives can easily be addressed by proper monitoring and strong involvement from the government end.

To recapitulate, undoubtedly tourism is an opportunity for any country to make their financial condition a robust one. To me, the advantages actually outnumber the negatives and it should always be considered as developmental scope.