What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

While many students enjoy studying in their own countries, others keen on receiving foreign education. Obviously, there are numerous of benefits and withdraws that can be discussed in detail

The first benefit is that oversea students may approach to an advanced education system. Many nations, especially the developing one, are using traditional curriculum that is outdated. This is shown by the passive teaching methods that prevent pupils from thinking separately and creatively. Secondly, getting an education overseas is a good way to learn a new language through being immersed in it utterly. Talking to native speaker with the aim of practising is a good case in point. Finally, studying abroad gave student an opportunity to become more independent. It would seem that studying overseas enabled international students to sharpen their skill and gain some experience. Washing their clothes, doing their housework or preparing their own meal, to mention but a few

There is also a variety of withdraws. Firstly, there is homesickness. The difference in geographic distance and time deterred pupil from sharing their day with family. Second thing is the culture shock. There appears to be evidence that students may have stress due to the language barrier, culture of food and distinctive lifestyle.Last but not least, several pupil cannot keep up with the syllabus. They are reportedly unable to adapt to new academic environment. For instance, in many education systems there is no semester assignment or project. As a result, overseas pupils are unfamiliar with this methods and let the grass grown under their feet

To sum up, beside the advantages of studying in modern education, learning a new language or becoming more independent, there is also many disadvantages including homesickness, culture shock or unfamiliar syllabus