Young people who commit serious crimes such as a robbery or a violent attack should be punished in the same way as adults To what extent do you agree or disagree

There is a heated debate on how to tackle the soaring delinquency rate and whether young criminals should be punished in the same way as adults being punished. The debate over this question seems to consist of two irreconcilable poles. This essay discusses both sides of the view and then I will give my own perspective.

On the one hand, punishing young criminals in the same way as adults are treated can have several advantages. Firstly, it will set out a good example about the associated bad consequences for to-be-criminals. It is often the case that youngsters tend to engage in crimes due to poor judgement and less experience about the life, especially when they are not properly guided by parents, hence they would not measure the bad outcome it might bring. If they can witness serious punishments, it will deter young adults from engaging such activities. Another advantage is that, in this way, victims always get the fair justice regardless of the age of the criminal. For example, had a young murderer been sentenced to far less punishment than he deserves just because he is a youngster, it would have been very unfair to the respective victim and the family.

On the other hand, treating minors in the same way as adults can be too extreme and may have detrimental consequences. In other words, punishments can be too hard to bear by juveniles and it may harm them not only physically but also mentally. Moreover, this could result in destroying their whole life ahead. There are better ways to handle delinquency rather than going for extreme ends. It is better if they are given a second chance after being thoroughly advised or rehabilitated, so that they would never attempt to take the wrong path once again.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits. However, I believe that young adults should not be treated in the same as standard criminals are treated, and they should be given a second chance to allow them to become useful adults eventually.