Computers are being used more and more in education Some people say that this is a positive trend while others argue that it is leading to negative consequences Discuss both views and give your opinion

Over the last years computers have become an essential tool not only in the daily life but also at school. Whether relying on computers for education purpose is beneficial or not is still up for debate. This essay will focus on the pros and cons of this trend and explain why computers are instrumental in the field of education.

Computers made their first appearance in the late 70s. At that time almost nobody seemed to understand the huge potential concealed behind those clumsy and noisy machines. However, motivated teachers and students began to spend days trying to program computers and make them affordable and comprehensible to a wider range of people. Little by little, computers have begun to become more friendly-user and what once was the reign of few brilliant students is nowadays available to everyone. Computers are an instrumental tool when it comes to learning and teaching as well.

Fast Internet connection combined with low computer prices have made it possible for many students to access for free an infinite amount of knowledge. Up to not such a long time ago, researching would have required days, if not even weeks, of hard work. These days students have the privilege of getting information in a matter of seconds. Nevertheless, in spite of those undeniable positive aspect, some raise concerns about the potential negative effects of using computers in education. They claim that students by using computers could waste their time by visiting social media or online shops; that learning is basically made of pen and paper; that students would not be able to memorize concepts for they could rely on the Internet. As a matter of facts those negative aspect do not absolutely outweigh the advantages brought by this technology.

To sum up, computers are an essential tool in the field of education since they can hep students as well as teachers to learn quickly and efficiently. In the future computers are going to play a major role in our society, including education. It is time therefore to keep up with this trend and I would recommend governments to take the necessary steps to equip schools with the technology a modern country deserve.