Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of living and working in a foreign country.

Recently, I read an article about the growing interest in immigration. In the article, some travel agents claim that it is beneficial for immigrants, while some social workers state that it has many downsides. In this essay, I will discuss both pros and cons of this.

Let us start with benefits of working and living in other countries. The first advantage is that it frequently allows starting afresh. Many people, who are dissatisfied with either their jobs or city life, have the opportunity to change a scenery, since in another country they can discover new career prospects as well as find new friends. Another merit is that it normally enables people to improve their foreign language skills. Immigrants also have the excellent chance to practice the official language of the host country, while they work and live overseas by mixing with locals. Therefore, it is clear that living and working abroad offer many upsides for newcomers.

Despite these advantages, working and living create many problems to immigrants. Firstly, it usually makes people feel homesick. Immigrants often miss their home, because they misunderstand local cultures and refuse to participate in social interaction, which can lead to homesickness. Secondly, it does not guaranty the improvement of living standards. Many people, who change citizenships, fail to build a new life overseas, since it is frequently difficult for newcomers to obtain desired jobs.

In conclusion, even though changing citizenship for either residing or working has many beneficial effects on immigrants, It also creates many hindrances for them.