Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and whether they are married or single. Some people say that this information may be relevant and useful, others disagree. Discuss both the vie

It is undeniable fact that candidates are often questioned with personal data such as marital status, favorite pastime etc. Most of the resumes carries these information at the end including some of the key data like Passport number, Visa Status, Languages known and personal interests. In my opinion, these are needed for few of the jobs which involve overseas work whereas other job doesn’t require these details. The essay will discuss both sides of the opinion with relevant examples.

Most of the jobs in Information Technology expect employees to travel abroad either in short term or in long term. With this background, it is vital for employers to ask details like passport number and status of the visa. The number of associates residing in United States in one of the India’s largest MNC Infosys is an example for the above statement. The organization will plan their strategy according to the people who are willing to travel for project purposes. This clearly shows how getting information on their previous travel experience and languages will help employers as well as employees are mutually benefited.

On the contrary, it is advisable to abstract these details till the final round of interview process. These personal details tend to be misused by the interviewer or any others in the organization without any concern from the person. Also, the marital status is completely personal and it doesn’t have any impact in the job search. For instance, when a person is still single at the age of 35, the chances are there for an interviewer to ask for a reason which may subsequently offend the interview candidate. There is no value added by adding these kind of details in the resume before the end of the interview.

To sum up, the key facts like passport details, marital status can be revealed upon request and can be mentioned in resume explicitly that it will be unblocked if any employer needs it at the final round of interview. Based on the request received, the candidate can decide upon the genuine interviewer and respond accordingly.