An increasing number of children are overweight which could result in many problems when they grow older both in terms of their health and health care costs. Why do you think so many children are overweight? What could be done to solve this problem?

In recent times, a sharp rise in cases related to obesity in children has been evident in many countries. Due to this obese youngsters might face many health issues in the future, along with high health care costs. In my opinion, this trend could be linked to the sedentary lifestyle and the eating habits of the youngsters, which can be solved with more informed choices related to food and exercise.

Nowadays, lack of physical activity has lead to a myriad of lifestyle diseases. According to medical professionals, sitting is the new smoking. Teenagers often stay indoors due to their dependence on technology for recreational and educational activities. Therefore, they devoid themselves of any form of exercise that could help them stay in shape. Additionally, the consumption of fast food could also be linked to many health problems in young children. For example, the ingredients and chemical preservatives used in the preparation of burgers and pizzas are linked to Type-1 Diabetes. Furthermore, misinformed parents often introduce their children to unhealthy food choices at an early age. This could adversely affect their weight because they are unaware of the ill effects high carbohydrates and fats in their diet.

Obesity in children can be controlled with the help of informed choices and encouragement towards a better lifestyle. Schools should encourage children to participate in sports and subjects such as Physical education should be mandatory. Moreover, parents should set an example by eating nutritious food and regular jogging or swimming. This could help create awareness of the importance of staying fit within the household. These steps could help create a better future for those who are struggling with their weight.

To sum up, the younger generation can work towards a healthier future if they can have the right information and support from their relatives. Many diseases stem from being overweight, therefore, any individual must look after their eating habits and exercise regularly.