An increasing number of schools provide tablets and laptop computers for students to use in school, replacing books and other printed materials like exams and assignments.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technological devices like tablets and laptop computers are being adopted in schools substituting conventional methods like using printed material. Due to globalization and cutthroat competition, schools want to be trendy to attract more students. The advantages and disadvantages of both the methods will be discussed in the essay.

There are a lot of advantages in using tablets and laptop computers. If the environment is taken in into consideration, digital media may reduce the cutting of trees to some extent as the demand for paper will be less. Another benefit will be that the devices can be used for various other purposes like communication and the nature of these devices is interactive and graphical, so students will find it more interesting to study. The most important positive factor will be to digitize all the books and make it easier for students to access a vast variety of collection at their fingertips.

On the other hand, there are various disadvantages of adapting technology in schools. First and foremost, students will get addicted to technology and as per various studies, it is bad for their health as it may affect their eyes adversely. Secondly, the devices are multi-tasking and thus instead of studying, students may slip to some unproductive applications which may result in bad grades. Lastly, the traditional printed material is being used since centuries and there have been no adverse effects and printed material is really enjoyable to read and work on.

To conclude, the trend to adopt laptop computers and tablets will continue to rise and evolve.