It has been suggested that all young adults should be required to undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in the community Would the drawbacks of such a requirement be greater than the benefits to the community and the individual young adults

While it is true that youngsters need to take up voluntary work for some time in their life to assist the residents of their communities. This work is offering many benefits to teenagers. However, sometimes a few issues emerge due to voluntary work. The following paragraphs would discuss the merits and the demerits of social service taken up by young adults.

Firstly, youth will gain work experience from voluntary work in local communities. They can use this experience while applying for jobs and companies always consider previous work which increases the chance of getting a job, additionally, communities get benefitted from the service provided by minors.

Secondly, after college education, youngsters will have some spare time. They can utilize this time in useful activities like helping people by joining social service organizations. This gives them the opportunity to meet people from various cultures which will help adults to think open-minded and learn about their cultures and societies. Most importantly communication skills will be developed with people's interactions. In addition, teenagers start feeling more responsible towards society.

On the other hand, as youngsters are new to unpaid jobs, they not deliver the commitments as agreed with the organization. They feel pressurzied and become stressed. Moreover, social service demands time and patience. Since minors' tolerance levels are less compared to elders, they get angry at times which is suitable for the social organizations they serve. Often, young adults feel that working at a social service organization is a wastage of time and effort instead they are interested to invest the time in making money.

In a nutshell, I believe that the advantages overweigh the disadvantages. However, efforts should be made to encourage young adults to allocate some time to do social service from their busy life. The demerits are minimal, whereas there are several benefits to the society and youngsters.