It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Adolescents must be able to differentiate between right and wrong at a juvenile age. I completely agree with the notion that punishment is the right method which can help them in this distinction though in my opinion punishment should be in the form of infliction of a penalty rather than beating a child. In the below paragraphs I will elucidate and provide relevant examples to support my opinion.

Since we are living in an age where the internet and television act as an alluring source of information for children. Adolescents at such age have curious minds and tend to explore and use such platforms as a source of knowledge and tend to imitate the same things which they see of television. Hence it becomes impossible to control such flow of information thus it paramount that teachers and parents play a pivotal role in imparting good habits like social injustice and morality. In certain cases some adolescents repeat the same mistake thus they should be punished. The form of punishment should have a positive effect rather than a negative effect on the children. It should include some form of penalty or a physical exercise as a punishment rather than physical or mental torture.

In a recent survey done in India, many schools have running in the ground as a form of punishment for many children who misbehave. Secondly In countries like Germany according to a recent survey done by the Reuters, it was reported that adolescents who were penalized in the form of a fine or a physical exercise avoided repeating the same mistake as compared to children who undergo mental torture.

To sum up in order for a child to learn good behaviour teachers and parents must set positive examples and punishment should be inflicted in the form of penalty or a physical exercise rather than harassment.