Many jobs in the home nowadays can be done by machines. Has it brought more advantages than disadvantages?

In the modern era, technology has become an essential part of everyday life. There were many tasks in the past being done manually are now carried out by appliances automatically - with just the click of a button. This essay will examine the positive aspects of task automation and drawbacks of this trend.

From an overall perspective, there are two key advantages of utilizing machines to get things done. Perhaps the main advantage is time-saving which provides an opportunity for people to invest their time in more productive activities. For instance, by using electronic devices such as: washing machine, vacuum cleaner, and dishwasher at home, women tend to save their precious time which they can spend with family, in particular, the focused upbringing of offspring. A further point in favor of machines usage is that the convenience it brings to life. For instance, the strenuous task of loading and unloading of building materials at the construction sites are now done by the cranes. Overall, machines save time and are efficient.

Despite these arguments, many people feel that using machines has negative aspects for a number of reasons. While a machine can perform task in minutes, even without the human intervention, it has made the people’s lifestyle quite sedentary and it is the main reason of development of the health issues at an early age. A recent report issued by the Ministry of Health in Pakistan revealed the fact that 40% of the patients diagnosed with high blood pressure are young people in the age bracket of 30 – 40 - citing non-active way of living is the leading cause of this trend. Another negative impact of the machine is excessive consumption of energy that is needed to operate the machine. Since most of the energy is produced from non-renewable resources, usage of the machine is directly linked to the depletion of natural resources.

To conclude, usage of the machine for task automation is conducive to a certain extent, but adequate measures should be in place to ensure the benefits are not generated at the expense of damage to health and environment.