Modern buildings change the character and appearance of towns and cities. The government should insist that new buildings be built in traditional styles to protect cultural identity.

With the rapid development of architectural advancements and the dramatic increase in modernization, many countries have allowed constructing more and more modern buildings that have created significant changes in character and appearance of the living areas. In my opinion, this is unlikely to deteriorate culture and the suggestion that new high-rise buildings should follow the traditional styles in order to maintain culture identity is not persuasive.

There is no denying the fact that buildings erected in modern and unique designs and equipped with more advanced amenities will partly make a professional and active look for a city or town, which both facilitates higher living standards of the locals and draws attention to wealthy tourists or potential investors who are seeking for lucrative markets to develop their business. When the government implement the open policies for its cities and towns to construct modern buildings, many companies are more likely to rent more rooms, offices or apartments so as to place their branches, stores or even head offices. This will promisingly accelerate the local economy.

With the intention to protect cultural identity, the government can take consideration into more practical ways rather than insist the traditional styles for new buildings. Regular repairs or refurbishment for historical and old buildings, for instance, may be a good idea to keep the country's cultural values alive longer. It is those sites that reflect more actual traditions of towns and cities than new ones built in the so-called traditional styles which people cannot ensure if they have been inherited properly from the previous to present builder generation.

In conclusion, modern buildings are obvious results of the constant progress in construction techniques and the economic development of residential regions. The government should encourage building more high-rise buildings to satisfy its inhabitants' higher demands on hi-tech facilities as well as invest effectively in repairing old buildings to conserve traditional values.