More and more qualified people are moving from poor to rich countries to fill vacancies in specialist areas like engineering, computing and medicine. Some people believe that by encouraging the movement of such people, rich countries are stealing from poo

Working abroad is a dream of many people especially from developing countries or under developed countries. Instead of staying in their home country and work on a job available there, they move somewhere else with a hope that their life will be better. This brain-drain situation has been around for many decades and it is unlikely to stop. In my opinion, I believe it is a part of world economic competition and everyone can participate.

People move to another country because of many personal reasons. Firstly, when a skill of a person is developed to a certain level, jobs available in the country may no longer fit that skill and the person may not be paid well. The only way to find a better job is to look into a global market and move away. Furthermore, working in the global market also allows workers to work on challenging job with many amazing people from around the world. More than that, local situation in the home country such as political unrest also drives some talented people out of the country.

On the other side, governments are also the players in this global market. Either rich or poor countries can do best at their available resources to keep talented people at home country by promoting advanced technology development locally or pulling in world class employers into the country using tax incentive. Nonetheless, people are not assets of the country, they should be free to move anywhere as long as they are not guilty in a criminal case and the other country welcome them in.

In summary, just like how water flow from higher ground to lower ground. People move from countries to countries as long as they can find a better place to live and work. Governments should also do their best with any kind of incentive to keep talented people in the country instead of promoting nationalism.