Nowadays, Medical research projects are funded in order to improve medicine and treatment. To help producing effective medication in order to improve health and tackle with variuos disease, in your opinion, do you think that research should be carried by

It is undeniable that scientific research is imperative for a country’s development in this modern world. However, it is equally important to have a control in place as to who can carry out such research. To a larger extent, I agree that the government should have an upper hand when it comes to undertaking scientific research as they tend to be more people driven.

There are various reasons why it is pivotal to have government-run research projects. To begin with, when research is carried out by the government, the motive behind is always people-driven and not money oriented. As a result, there is more transparency in the process and the need to invest in a quality research that benefits the general public also increases.

Furthermore, a government is borne to be more responsible and has complete accountability when it comes to investing public money in such research.

In contrast, private organizations are not people oriented and they tend to invest in research projects that are more profitable. In addition, when the funding comes from the same organization, the results could also be biased to ensure there is a favourable outcome to the funding institution. For example, companies that produce medicinal drugs are legally obliged to go through rigorous trials, which may take several years to complete. As private companies invest a lump sum of money in such studies, it is impractical for them to wait for a longer tenure to attain the expected results. Hence, there is a higher probability of the quality being compromised to make the research successful.

In conclusion, carrying out and controlling scientific research is a contentious issue as transparency and openness are pivotal for a quality research. Undoubtedly, this is only possible if done by a non-profit organization like the government.