At the present time the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults compared with the number of older people Do you think that the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages

While a constantly growing life expectancy is a typical earmark of developed countries, other nations sail in the opposite direction, which means that the majority of the society is made of young adults. Although some sociologists and experts see this trend critically, many in contrary underpin the benefits ensued by this demographic condition. In this essay I will examine which advantages brings for a country being able to rely on a large population of young adults.

First of all, a young population has a positive impact on the economy for several reasons. Young adults are generally phisically strong and active so that they turn rarely to medical treatment which in, in turn, has a benefical effect on healthcare spending. Secondly, less money is spent on retirement benefits, so that it can be invested in developing the technological level of the scoiety, in cutting-edge medical treatment or in building essential infrastructures. A society composed by young adults means also high productivity and the possibility to rely on a strong military. In countries like Iran for example the majority of the population is made of under 30, which to some extent could represent an enormous edge over european countries that have to recon with the progressive aging population.

Especially nations in the north emisphere are plagued by low birth rate which will have a detrimental impact on the productivity and the financial stability of some countries, unless serious actions are taken to tackle the problem.

However some claim that all of these rather bright aspects, should not blind us to the fact that this type of society can have its disadvantages as well. They outline the importance of elderly people as source of experience and knoweldge. Others point out the lack of respect of some young people, who believe to have the right to say and to do what they want, showing no respect for their country, family and tradition.

The truth is that negative traits can be found in every society in every time, no matter how the percentage of young adults is high. A country that can rely on a large base of young population, has an immense advantage over other nations. Such a nation has boundless potentialities in several fields, from science through arts to industry and if well managed these precondition can trace the road to furher development and economic stability.