Scientists predict that all people will choose to talk the same global language in the future.

Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Scientists believe that next generation will use one global language to interact with each other. While this tendency has many disadvantages, I still believe it is a positive development.

On the one hand, the downsides of this trend cannot be overlooked. The dominance of having single language will gradually eliminate the linguistic diversity in many countries across the world, which is a principal cause for cultural absorption. Younger generations may undervalue their language, resulting in an irreparable destruction of the traditions, culture, and identity of their own. For example, tourists visiting China will not be able to relish the rich historical heritage of Chinese language and culture.

On the other hand, this offers many practical benefits to society as a whole. First, a universal language will give an enormous amount of opportunities to people to integrate into a global working environment which is essential for globalization. With no language barriers, people will not only communicate freely with their foreign business partners but also have a golden opportunity to work for a multi-national corporation in any part of the world. This would enable them to enjoy decent living standards, positively affecting the economic expansion of the country. Secondly, world’s history will be available in one language for free or by paying a minimal amount. This would solicit knowledge sharing and expansion across the globe for academic purposes.

To sum up, it is clear that there are drawbacks of the trend. I think that having one universal language is important for humanity’s development.