In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In few countries students after finishing their high school, are supposed to work or travel for a calendar year, before they begin their studies in the university. In my opinion, it would a good start as a career to get some practical experience.

If we try to visualize and study the life span of humans, it is utmost clear that more than half of our life is spent in practical experience rather then what we learn in the academics. Although, its not deniable as far as it is concerned that academics is remarkably important. By gaining a work experience, prior going to university, can be imagined in long term benefit when student completes the studies eventually it will benefit as already the negotiating and competitive skill have been developed. Those who consider career path in non academic field, can explore wide options of socializing and real-time exposure to the world.

Downside of it, there will be an year of gap in the formal education. And joining late in the industry to be the part of workforce will be more competitive, as students from other countries which do not follow this process of an year of training are professionally ahead and retirement age will be more. Staying off from the academics for such a period of time can result in loss of flow to studies and getting aligned to the career oriented mind set take time.

But it depends from individual to individual, as to what extent of benefit can be gained from both these options. Every human is distinct it wont be wrong to say, perceiving your goals is in your hands.

Concluding on this, gaining a 12 months of break from the university studies, can give an insight of real life examples and preparing oneself for scenarios which will not be faced sitting in a class room.