Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There are many people who think that a sportsperson can only be successful if they have innate talent / inborn talent. However, many people disagree with this view and believe that diligent efforts and constant practice make successful players. This essay will discuss both views and give my perspective.

On the one side of the argument, many people believe that natural talent is needed to be a successful sports player. The main reason behind this is that genes from parents play an important role in the development of a person’s body and interests which help them to master the game with less effort.

To illustrate, the daughter of the famous Indian badminton coach, Mr. Gopichand started playing badminton at an early age of her life. She has won many medals at the national and international level. Obviously / No doubt, having natural ability can help a sports person to be successful as they can easily learn the sports and put efforts in an effective manner.

On the other hand, many people think that hard-work and constant practice can help any sportsperson to achieve desired outcomes. The primary reason for believing this is that a game is played with passion and dedication. If a player has these two qualities then they can learn all the required skills and reach great heights. Although hard work can be frustrating at times, it also sharpens the skills and strengthens the player to focus more. To elucidate, Sachin Tendulkar, the renowned cricket player worked industriously for decades to earn the title of best player across the globe in the field of cricket. Hence, practice and hard work play a greater role than natural talent in making a sports person successful.

To conclude, after analyzing both the sides, it is not hard to see why people hold different opinions. In my opinion, a player can only be successful in a game if they have a strong will to achieve their goals through hard work and dedicated efforts