Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Opinions vary on the role of music in social cohesion. I am of the opinion that music is an effective means of cementing bonds between different cultures but does not have the same success when it comes to different generations.

The main reason why I believe that music has a significant role in bringing people of different cultures together is that a lot of music is either instrumental only or the lyrics are of minor importance. The main example that comes to mind is western classical music, which is made up predominantly of pieces composed for the piano, violin and a range of other instruments, whether individually, in small groups or even orchestras. Even where the lyrics are a notable feature, such as in opera or operettas, many people still enjoy the music more. As such, this kind of music is accessible to wide range of cultures. This is evidenced by the fact that two of the most popular contemporary classical musicians in the UK are Italian - pianist Einaudi, and singer, Andrea Bocelli. Furthermore, many up-and-coming classical pianists in Europe hail from China, such as Ji Liu and Lang Lang.

Nevertheless, I do not consider that music so easily brings together people of different age groups, even within the same culture. Admittedly, there are some national occasions where all age groups unite and music is a part of the ceremonies. For example, orchestral pieces by Samuel Barber and Edward Elgar are traditionally performed at national commemorations of the war dead in the USA and the UK respectively. However, in the absence of unifying cultural events, I believe that musical tastes are very much divided along generational lines. In North America and Europe, the music of young people, such as rap and hip hop, is almost universally unpopular with older generations. Conversely, older people tend to prefer genres like classical music or what is now styled “classic rock”, meaning pop and rock music from the 1950s to say the 1990s. While most younger people in these regions are familiar with some of this music, they more often identify closely with the subcultures in which modern urban music flourishes.

In conclusion, I take the view that music can and does bring people of different cultures together but is less successful at unifying older and younger people.