Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Not all of the crimes are equal; therefore not all the crimes should be punished the same, it would be absurd to put someone in prison for a lifetime if they pickpocket and equally as silly to write a ticket to someone who killed three people. The punishment needs to fit the crime for it to be appropriate and reasonable. I completely agree that certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

Firstly, no one is born criminal; it is the circumstances that force people to break the laws in the society. As an example, a young boy would steal a pack of milk from a grocery store to feed his starving family, and one must see such offense differently from the severe ones. Such convicted prisoners should be entitled to serve the unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars, and this community works will not only give them a chance of correcting themselves but also society will not look at them as criminals.

Secondly, if first-time offenders of low-level crime are put together with the other convicts who have performed some severe crime such as murder, rape, terror attack; the mere possibility of them getting influenced by such criminal cannot be overruled. And further to correct their low-level crime and to ensure that they do not engage with such act of crime in future, the community service is the suitable punishment.

To conclude, laws are made to maintain peace and harmony in the society and not to punish people. Distinguishing of crime level should be done. High-level offense - high-level punishment; smaller offense must be given a chance to do unpaid service which will serve as a path for improvement and live an ordinary life again.