Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History, at its simplest, is the study of past events. It is an account of the nation’s period of glory and struggle. Some people believe that studying history is not at all important while others have an opinion that it is essential to have knowledge about history. But is studying past useful or is it just a waste of time? This will be discussed further in this essay

We learn from history that we learn nothing from history. Many people believe in this statement because they have a point of view that history is a subject rarely used in people's lives, on the contrary, one should focus on advances in science and technology that are more relevant to the future development of society. History as a subject is irrelevant in schools and colleges as students are required to memorize dates, names and facts that are not useful in everyday life. Knowledge of the history is not even important because each historical event has a different perspective, that is, different people interpret it differently.

Learning history and knowledge of the past, however, is preparing for the future. It is simply said that those who have no understanding of history are doomed to repeat this. Of example, when similar past events are reported and analysed in detail, appropriate measures can be taken to mitigate the effects of natural calamities such as floods. History helps people understand the history and the development of the nation. It also provides insight into what the great leaders have endured in the past to make the world what it is now. It is important to remember these occurrences to commemorate the country's sacrifices.

To sum up, although many people believe that knowing history is nevertheless insignificant, it is unquestionable that the advantages of learning history outweigh the disadvantages. Studying history can not only deepen and broaden the knowledge, but also contribute to the development of analytical power.