Some people think that studying history is a waste of time while others think it is essential to learn history.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

History, at its simplest, is the study of past events. It is an account of the nation’s period of glory and struggle. Some people believe that studying history is not at all important while others have an opinion that it is essential to have knowledge about history. But is studying past useful or is it just a waste of time? This will be discussed further in this essay.

We learn from history that we learn nothing from history. Many people believe in this statement as they have a viewpoint that History is a subject rarely used in people’s life, on the contrary, one should focus on scientific and technological advancements which are more relevant for the society’s future development. History as a subject in schools and colleges is irrelevant as students are imposed to memorize the dates, names and facts which is not useful in every day’s life. Knowledge about the past even is not required because every historical event has a different perspective, in other words it is interpreted in different way by different people.

However, learning history and knowing about the past prepares for the future. It is indeed said that those who don’t know History are doomed to repeat it. For Instance, effective measures can be taken to mitigate the effects of natural calamities such as floods if similar past situations are recorded and studied in depth. History helps people to understand culture and how the country was evolved. In addition, it provides understanding about what the great leaders have suffered in the past to make the country of what it is today. It is important to remember these events in order to honour the sacrifices made for the country

To sum up, even though, many people have an opinion that knowing history is insignificant nevertheless, it is indisputable that the benefits of learning history outweigh the drawbacks. Studying history can not only deepen and widen the knowledge but also helps to develop the power of analysis.