Today it is common practice for many business meetings and business training to take place online. Do you advantages of new development outweigh the disadvantages?

Technology has impacted a variety of industries, including business and training. These days huge number of people prefers business meetings and business training online. In my opinion, I think that holding business meetings and training online can bring more drawbacks for individuals compared to any advantages it might bring.

Admittedly, there are some benefits to conducting business meetings and training online. One advantage is that it reduces the cost of travelling. Since these meetings are taken place online without any need to commute anywhere, it assists in saving the cost of transportation and time. For instance, KPMG, a finance consultancy firm in Mumbai, regularly conducts business training for its staff to regularly update themselves with new laws and schemes passed by the Indian government. Another advantage is that online meetings and training aids office staff in being flexible. To be more precise, individuals can attend these meeting and train online without being the consent of leaving their workplace and important communications which assist them to be free from the stress of piled up work.

Nevertheless, despite the minimal advantages above, I believe that people can face serious drawbacks from holding business meetings and training online. The first and most compelling reason is that it lacks to develop a united feeling among team members. In other words, since office staffs are not physically present in the meetings or training, no team activity can be conducted which involves active communication among staff members. Another crucial point to consider is that conducting business meetings and training are dependent on continuous good internet speed and any disruption will affect the flow of meeting, resulting in unsuccessful or wastage of time for staff members. For instance, according to a recent survey by MoneyKing. com in developing countries in western Asia, 65% of meetings conducted online were unsuccessful due to bad internet connectivity.

In conclusion, unsuccessful in developing teamwork among staff members and disturbance due to periodic internet connectivity far outweigh any of the minor advantages that could result from conducting business meetings and training online.