The use of mobile phone is as antisocial as smoking. Smoking is banned in certain places so mobile phone should be banned like smoking. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Excessive use of mobile phones is injurious to a person's life, similar to smoking. In my opinion, there has been a restriction on smoking in some ares and the same should be applied on the usage of mobile phones. However, a complete ban cannot be enforced and certain regulations need to be applied.

In today's time people are more engaged on their phones and completely disconnected from the outside world. Everybody is trying to make their presence on various social networks and being more virtually updated. Especially, the younger generation who seem to be addicted to mobile phones. They find it very difficult to interact with real people.

Like smoking, to put a ban on cellphones is not so easy. It has become a part of our daily lives and people are overly dependent on it. Although, certain institutions like schools, colleges, universities, etc. should ban the use of cellphones in their premises. This will ensure the kids get a break and focus on the real world. Offices should also follow the same and limit the use of cell phones during work hours. This initiative in turn will increase productivity. Public places like gardens, beaches, open grounds, etc. should also follow similar practices, thus, encouraging children and families to spend more time with nature and with each other.

Initially, it will be more difficult as people will be resilient to the idea. However, once they understand the bigger picture, they will comply with the rules. I therefore, agree that the use of mobile phones is harmful to our society and I believe precautionary measures should be undertaken for a bright future.