Writing Task 2 (an essay)Nowadays congestion and traffic jams are a common and major problem in most cities. Some people believe it is a good idea to construct wider roads to resolve this issue. Do you agree or disagree with this statement? What can be th

Every city across the world is dealing with a surge in a number of cars. Major cities across the world have twice the number of cars in comparison with the number of people in the city. Some class of people say that the construction of wider roads is a better alternative to counter the menace of traffic, whereas, there are some who hold a dissenting opinion about the same. The essay will deal with both sides followed by a suggestion opinion at the end.

On the one hand, the rising number of cars had sparked a debate to increase the number of lanes the roads have in general nowadays. The opinion is backed by the thought that the same will lead to more space on roads and smooth flow of traffic. This overhauling will allow vehicles to pass at a rapid pace and resultant which there will be less traffic. For example, the German Road Safety Organization had come with an effective solution to deal with the issue of traffic in the city of Berlin and it was proposed to extend the number of lanes on the roads and which would help in reducing the traffic by 49% during the peak hours. Therefore, it can be said that the small overhauling of the roads will lead to smoother roads.

On the other hand, there are some who feel that merely extension of roads and additions of lanes will not suffice. There are many problems which one cannot see but has been a root cause of the traffic in the cities. Moreover, the drivers do not possess the driving etiquette which is the nub of the problem. For instance, Transport for London which is the regulatory authority had in its 19th Submission before the House of Lords had stated that the driver was not adhering to the code of conduct and have been driving recklessly on pavements and there is no lane driving which has been clogging the streets of London. The government came up with the idea of strictly enforcing the laws and stringent actions being taken against the violators. Thus, the laws need to be changed with an effective implementation the change can bring about in the desired direction.

In conclusion, the effective solution to the problem can be said to be that the cities or the lawmaking agencies should come up with an effective method of imposition of hefty taxes on purchase of vehicles as majority of the cities have two or more cars per head in the cities and half of which are not even used. As a result, they are only parked on the roads causing traffic problems. The imposition of taxes will restrict people from purchasing a car and clogging the streets and counter the issues.