3)Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Advertisements are an important tool in trade and business market, which can influence people’s choices and preferences when purchasing goods and services. Young children, however, should not be a target for such commercial disputes. I agree with the statement that advertisements directed toward young children should be forbidden. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, small children are incapable to decide what is right or wrong, therefore, they are influenced in a bad way. They can develop poor eating habit and unhealthy lifestyle since advertisements usually stimulate these without concerns. For example, although nutritionists associations claim for a reduction in quantities of sugar and other noxious products in infant foods, the industry only concerns about how to enhance their profit and achieve more the child public.

Secondly, the advertisements generate consumerist behavior in little children. They are influenced to want to have every toy that is shown on TV or the Internet, because every child they know, at school or other social communities, has that trendy toy. For instance, last year when I went to my nephew’s presentation at school every little girl was with a specific doll even though they were not to play with it. What this means is they require to show that they already have the trendy toy.

Finally, although parents should decide what their children watch on TV and the Internet in addition to monitor them, usually the advertisements arise for children in a hidden manner. For example, the parents allow a child to watch a cartoon on the internet, surprisingly in the middle of the cartoon an advertisement emerges and parents even do not notice it. Moreover, during the infant content or programming, there are vast types of camouflaged publicity.

To sum up, I undoubtedly agree with the statement that advertisements for small children should be prohibited. This is because they are too small to decide what is wrong and they are turned into consumerist people. Furthermore, they should be protected against such an ineffable commercial dispute that unfairly impairs their lives forever.