After completing high school, students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university.

Currently, a growing controversy arises as to whether students should take at least a year off to work or travel before they begin studying at a university. Some people believe that it is useful for students' development, while others hold the opposite ideas. From my perspective, students should be allowed to take a year off.

The primary reason to support my opinion is that taking at least one year off can help students to know what they want to study at the university. To be precise, at this time, they have enough time to engage in various jobs, like to be an accountant or waiter. Experiencing these jobs, they will have a well understanding of the requirement on different works, leading to know what major they are more interesting to learn after back to the university. Take my older brother as an example, before beginning study at the university, he was gaping one year to work as an assistant on lab or teacher in the middle school. After trying this job and back to the university, the education major has been chosen because he would like to teach and play with them. However, if not trying different job, he will waste time on study a major that do not like.

What's more, taking a year off is also helpful to students for hunting a job in the future. As we all know, recently, the majority of companies require interviewers with prolific working experiences. If students have enough time to enrich themselves, their resume background will be becoming more competitive than other job hunters, leading to have more chances to attain the job. Returning to the prior example, because of possessing two working experiences, my brother attained the offer from Apple company after graduating from the university. But, his friends were still found a job until now. Therefore, taking a year off to work in the different positions is of great importance for students.

To sum up, from what has been discussed, we may draw a conclusion that taking almost a year off is beneficial for students.