Are difficult experiences valuable lessons for the future?
Life experiences definitely come in many different forms and shapes. They can
be really sweet and really painful just as well. There is an opinion that sooner
or later all of the above mentioned experiences would turn into valuable lessons
of some kind.
I think it is a little naive and somewhat childish approach. This is the way
people want it to be, not the way it actually happens in real life. I am convinced
that, unless some supernatural powers interfere, no experiences will start
turning into anything of value. It seems to me that some efforts must be applied,
because experience is not the sort of things that can come naturally, so to speak.
To give an obvious example, if a student flunks his or her examinations one day,
and gets into big trouble with the faculty and the dean put together, how likely
is this student to do well on the exams next term? It remains to be seen, unless
the student in question had given the whole thing some thought and decided to
do everything possible not to get in such a jam over again. I suppose that if he
hadn't done that, he would simply repeat the whole mess once more.
Quite naturally, things don't work out this way all the time. There are people
who do learn from their mistakes. The bad part about this very peculiar kind of
learning is that it always hurts, one way or another. If one has the habit of
learning only after some first-hand experience, he will most certainly suffer
from it. I personally can tell from my own experience that it's way more
reasonable to stay on the safe side and avoid unpleasant experiences. Because
when you have to deal with some of them you rarely think about all of the good
things that can come with it some time in the remote future. What you really
think about in such moments is how uncomfortable, upsetting and painful the
whole experience is and how much it hurts to go through it.
Still I have to admit that it can do you some good later on. But it's necessary to
work on the difficult experiences that happen to you once in a while, if you
really want them to turn into valuable lessons in the future. Gain is how we
learn, said C.S. Lewis. That's the way things go. But not always, unfortunately.
Sometimes people happen to die if the pain is too big. And therefore they don't
learn anything anymore.