Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

University is an important place for the development of each and every individual. People learn various skills and develop some character that helps them to succeed in the later part of their life. The selection of subjects is a very important decision, as it determines their career. Personally, I strongly disagree with the given topic. I am of the opinion that the university should not make rules and regulations to require every student to take a history class. I feel this way for two reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, the different individual has different interests, and if an individual having not interested in history class, force to take history class then he may quite studying, which may ruin his/her career. The student may feel depressed and lose their interest in studying. For instance, my friend, Krishna, who had joined to study agricultural science in the Tribhuwan University Nepal in 2009. However, after he got admitted. he knew that it is necessary to take history clas even his/her major subject was not history. He didn't like history class, he felt depressed and finally left university after 2 years of study. Nowadays, he still in bed and require to take medicine for depression. His aim to become an agricultural scientist is ruined. So, by making history class compulsory for all the students, many students might discontinue their study, which ultimately spoiled their career.

Secondly, students should focus their study in their major subjects, as students acquire basic knowledge during their school life so that they can focus their study in order to achieve their goal. The school-level courses should be designed to cover a diversity of course including history so that it is not necessary to take extra classes during their university level. When a history course is made compulsory, then the students have to give some period of time to study history class, if not, they can concentrate their time fully on their major subject. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. Ten years ago, I completed my school level study, where I got background information about various fields such as politics, morals, environment, history, music, etc. Then I joined Pulchowk Engineering Campus for my higher study, where I can choose my major subject based upon my interest. I selected a civil engineer as my major courses and started my focus on my major subject. Due to my hard work and continuous focus on my major subject, I was able to secure 87% in my graduate-level study. therefore, student should be allowed to study their major subjects only, so that they can perform well in their study.

In conclusion, I am strongly opposed the statement of each and every students should study history subject. This is because, all the students might not give their interest in the history course, so may drop their study, and because, students learn background information during their school level study, so it is not necessary for them to take history course at the university level.