Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer

History is undeniably a crucial thing in humans life. A controversial argument that is often raised regarding this topic is whether to students must take history courses or not. If I were obliged to choose, I would think that history courses should not be required for all students for several reasons, on a few of which I will elaborate subsequently.

To begin with, I believe that students with fields of study other than history can spend their time better than attending history classes. They can take courses related to their field of study to become master in that field. Although they are some quotes from lots of great people that say that everybody should know about history, I think that amount of required history knowledge can come from reading history books in free times. I believe my opinion is partially influenced from my personal experience. You see, I am a programmer now, I spent a lot of time in history classes in school years before, and if I could spend those times practicing coding and get deeper in computer science, I've been in a better position right now.

Secondly, I think some courses of history is not enough for someone who wants to work in the history area later, but it's too much of useless knowledge for someone who wants to do other things beside history-related jobs. A little knowledge of history is good for every one but not more. For instance, when I have been in elementary school, we had history courses. We must study a lot about ancient years and took hard exams, now I don't remember any of that and none of them are usable in my career.

Finally, learning requires focus. When someone chooses a field of study, it's better to get concentrated on that field and don't let other things take his or her time. Forcing students to take courses not related to their fields, disturb their concentration. I think people need to focus deeply on something in their life to achieve their goals in that area.

I resist the temptation to explain more, hoping there is enough information already. To sum it up, as the reasons I suggest, history courses should not be required for all the students. Because not only they can use their time better, but that amount of knowledge is useless for alot of people and it doesn't let them to focus on their own fields.