Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Whether the university should require every student to take history courses can be weighed in many aspects. However, not every student can benefit from it.

Admittedly, the speaker's claim appears to have considerable merits. Taking history courses surely can broaden students' horizons and enable them to know how culture and society evolved. Yet the speaker fails to provide a precise litmus test for measuring "students". When we speak of students, the following can be put forth: students with relatively easy majors, students with burdensome majors, students with learning prowess, and students who struggle against the academy institution. Obviously, students who have relatively easy majors and those who have ingenious talents in learning can handle or even be diverted by the history classes, while others may not.

It is thus justifiable to take all kinds of students into account, and we will find the statement problematic. For instance, consider a student who struggled a lot just to make their own way to catch up on the academic progress within their own study. If they are required to take extra courses outside of their field of study, we can already anticipate those students may have a higher chance to encounter extraneous failures which they are not supposed to deal with if they don't take these courses. As a result, the failure and the consequential influences such as depression may outweigh the benefit brought by these additional history courses.

Moreover, the speaker falsely assumes that by studying these history courses, students will benefit. However, students' learning always depends on their self-discipline. Even clever students who are able to learn things faster can fail to assimilate the information they dislike. If history isn't among one of their interests, they may simply be inattentive to the class. Therefore, studying history courses will not be able to guarantee ideal results in this case, which may require additional regulations or incentives to encourage students.

In summary, the statement is not as persuasive as it stands. Although history courses could indeed benefit students, not all students are the same. If they are not driven or lack interest in history, or they do not have leeway for extra courses, the result will backfire no matter how good the intention or ambition of the claim is. According to my exposition, I fundamentally disagree with the statement.