Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

In today's world, universities play an important role in paving the way for societies to reach the success's peak by educating people. With this in mind, a controversy exists whether universities should force students to take a history course or not regardless of their field of study. Some people believe that it is logical for universities to oblige students to take history courses, while others hold the opinion that it is not logical. I, personally, am of opinion that the university should not be required students to take history course for some reasons, two of which are lacking the interest and attend, wasting of the time that will be substantiated in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, forcing students to take history courses regardless of their major brings about some problems such as not attending the class because they are not interested in history courses; otherwise, students could choose history for their major. When a student is not a fond of a course in general and the history course in particular, it would be implausible to force them to take the course. Take my experience as an illustrative example. I am a petroleum engineer; When I was a 21-year-old and junior student, I was focusing on my field of study and was working on my own project to develop a new method for petroleum industry, I was told that I should take a history course, otherwise I would not be able to be graduated from university. At that time, I complained about this new regulation, but I had no choice except taking the history course. Even though I took the course and brought about that I distracted from my project, but I did not attend the class anymore, so after a while, the university found that this new regulation was not practical and thought that they should not have used it, and finally they would not do it again.

The other reason that worth mentioning in order to support my idea that obliging students to take history course is not a good idea is that it would be a waste of money and nothing else. Universities can invest the money on some special and technical courses which are more beneficial for students instead of using the money on holding the history course for students whom the history are not their major. The more logical is your decision, the more sensible would be the result. If universities do not force students to take an irrelevant course, the university and students will be successful because they can focus on their own major. A recent research which is conducted by a renowned university on all university around Iran, the results have shown that universities that oblige students to take an irrelevant course are not as successful as other universities which do not force students. The most important reason behind this difference is because of wasting the money which was invested in the irrelevant course that had not a practical effect. All in all, by taking

all the aforementioned reason, one can conclude that it would not a good idea to universities force students to take a history curse because not only are the students lack interest in the history course but also it would be a waste of money. I strongly recommend that university does not force students to take irrelevant courses such as history courses which are irrelevant to students that are not majoring in the history.