Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Some people argue that all university students should take history course irrespective of their field of study as it will help them understand how their ancestors lived. However, in my opinion, they should not be forced to take history course for 3 reasons, which I will illustrate in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, different students in the university have different likings and preferences and our aim should be to encourage them in their field of interests. Those students who don't have interest in history course would not take the course seriously and as a result, would end up getting bad grades. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. A few years back, when I was in 9th grade, I had to take a course on Indian History as it was mandatory, however, I had no interest in the course and as a result, my grade in that course was only 58% which affected my overall grade, and I could not into my dream college of Engineering.

Secondly, I believe that forcefully adding a course would add more stress on the students. They won't be able to spend much in their Major courses as now they will have to allocate time for the history course. For example, In India, we already have 6 subjects in high school and students easily gets exhausted finishing the coursework of these 6 subjects, if the high school decides to add history course it will be very difficult for students to cope with the syllabus.

Thirdly, It will also add more preasure on the history faculties as now they will have manage more students. Teacher prefer a less class with active participation rather than crowded class with low participation. It will be really difficult for teachers to give time to each student, and it will also be unfair to those students who are really interested in the course as now they won't get much of the teacher attention. For instance, My mother, who is a teacher, prefers those students who actively participate in the class as this gives her better understanding of knowledge students possess.

In conclusion, I firmly believe that course should not be made mandatory as it will add more burden to students and teachers, which can affect their grades.