Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Always telling the truth is the most important consideration in any relationship between people. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Confidence and respect are the basics foundations of any relationship, they are reached when the truth is always said no matter the consequences. Personally, I believe that telling the truth is crucial in our daily lives and relationships. I feel this way for the following reasons.

Firstly, we can demonstrate regret when we tell the truth after had told a lie. When the truth is said, even after a lie, we prove that we have nothing to hidden, we are willing to apologize and fix what is wrong. Otherwise, if we did not reveal the fact, the problem will be getting bigger and bigger because another lie needs to be said to continue the first one. For example, when my sister was a child, she did not want to tell my mother that she has got a low grade in a test. She did not tell my mother the truth and apologize for it, in contrast, she hidden two teacher’s letters from my mom until the principal’s school call to her and explain everything. Consequently, my sister was without TV for weeks not because of the poor score but because she lied twice to mom.

Secondly, telling the truth shows the character of a person, their honesty and integrity. This helps to build strong, deep and healthy relations which can be love relationships or just work and business relations. The truth should always be said, apart from birthday surprises or presents, since keeping even little secrets can lead to a breakdown of trust. My own experience demonstrates this concept. Last year, near my birthday I noticed my boyfriend was very odd, avoiding eye contact and stuttering when I ask random questions. As a result, I felt sad because I noticed that he was hiding something of me, however, I decided to wait for my birthday to discover if everything was fine with our relationship and talk about it. Fortunately, as a birthday surprise, I received a puppy from him and I was very relieved with his behavior. It improves my confidence in him because I know he felt uncomfortable when he told me a lie, this tells a lot about his character.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that the truth has always to be said and is crucial in every relationship. This is because being honest we prove we feel sorry after had told a lie, and because it is related to a person’s character.